Archive for Awards

APA PA – Submit your Nominations for Annual Awards

2021 Annual Awards

The PA Chapter of APA is pleased to invite nominations for the 2021 PA Chapter of APA Planning Awards, to be presented at the Annual Conference, October 17-19, 2021 in Pittsburgh. It is the opportunity to showcase distinguished individuals and successful projects – the best and brightest in Pennsylvania planning! Go to our website for more information.

Nominations are encouraged to submit:

  • Compelling Plans
  • Innovative Projects, Programs, and Practices
  • Inspiring Leaders

It is not hard to submit a nomination.

  1. Enter information on the online form.
  2. Attach a narrative.
  3. Attach any support docs and images that help tell the story.

Jan 18: Excellence in Sustainability Award Nominations Due

The American Planning Association Sustainable Communities Division annual Awards for Excellence in Sustainability program honors projects, plans, policies, individuals, and organizations dedicated to supporting sustainable communities. The nomination period for the 2020 Awards is now open, through January 18, 2020! There are nine categories of awards this year. The nomination packet can be downloaded at planning.org/divisions/sustainable/awards/. At that link, you can also find more information about two upcoming webinars, during which we will describe the 2020 Awards process and celebrate last year’s winners.

APA PA SE Sponsors Future City Competition for 2019

APA PA SE has supported the Future City competition for 2019 at the Sponsor Level, sponsoring an award for Planning Excellence.

The chapter had a booth at Future City’s October 13th event, presenting information on climate change and sea-level rise, focused on the event’s theme of building a resilient power grid.

Read more

Dec. 12: Deadline to apply for the 2019 Rudy Bruner Award for Urban Excellence

The Rudy Bruner Award for Urban Excellence recognizes transformative urban places distinguished by their economic and social contributions to America’s cities. Founded in 1986 by architect Simeon Bruner, the award promotes innovative thinking about the built environment by celebrating and sharing the stories of creative and inspiring urban development.

Winners offer creative placemaking solutions that transcend the boundaries between architecture, urban design and planning and showcase innovative thinking about US cities.

One gold medal and four silver medals are awarded each biennial, with the gold medalist receiving a $50,000 cash prize and each silver medalist receiving $10,000.  To be eligible, projects must be urban, built (not just a plan or a program) and in operation long enough to demonstrate impact, and located within the continental United States.

The deadline for entries is December 12, 2018. There is no fee to enter.

More information: rudybruneraward.org

Apply at : http://www.rudybruneraward.org/apply/